BIOGRAPHY

JAZZ

Marcel Loeffler

Marcel was born in 1956 in Haguenau in the gypsy community, in a family of musicians; In the East of France, the Loeffler as the Reinhardt or the Schmitt are among those great families who have regularly generated musicians of great talent. The celebrities of Gypsy music are most often guitarists (Django Reinhardt is the one by whom it all started), quite often violinists but rarely accordionists. The father of Marcel, guitarist who plays in the balls, will be the catalyst of his vocation…

Read more
As he rubs many accordionists, he wants to see his son play. Although having lost his sight at the age of 5 (genetic problem), the little Marcel is left with an accordion in his hands when he is only 6 years old. Four years later he begins to accompany his father in country balls with one of his brothers on drums; Marcel is of course brought up in the love of music; Because if his father likes Django, the idol of the community, he is also a lover of American jazz; with him, Marcel discovers Sinatra, Nat king Cole, Ellington … but playing the accordion in the 70s, when the instrument is relegated to the commercial register, you immediately rank in the category of nerds, even if you like Art Van Damme, Gus Viseur or Marcel Azzola, working hard to decipher their pieces.
At the end of adolescence, Marcel abandons a time accordion in favor of an electric bass. Engaged in the Jacky Coulé Variety Orchestra, he performed at Niederbronn Casino; for four years he discovers and learns at the same time all the jazz standards within this orchestra. In the 80s he is interested in synthesizers, playing in various rock bands or varieties. These fifteen years of bells were still a solid school, allowing Marcel to be comfortable in all styles and everywhere at home in music; not to mention family reunions and parties where music is a daily sharing.
If Marcel started composing in the mid-80s, without ever having learned the theory, it was not until 1996 that he recorded « Vago » his first record as a leader, on which he signed most of the compositions and let his explosions multiply. talents. Having inherited from his father the faculty of not being content to stay in a single genre of music, Marcel announces here what will be a constant of his approach: his ability to propose different musical universes while keeping a real homogeneity. Sideman highly sought after, Marcel multiplies meetings and experiences. The essential for him being to play in public, he will share the stage with partners who are mostly his friends: guitarists Wawau Adler (participates in albums « Roots » in 2006 and 2007), Tchavolo, Dorado, Engé and Railo Helmstetter, accordionists Jean-Louis Matinier, Frédéric Schlick (Marcel will be one of his guests on « Jazz nuances » in 96), René Sopa (who will be inviting him on « Carinhos tango », recorded in 2008), Raul Barboza (Schiltigheim’s White Horse in 2000), Azzola the following year in the same place, saxophonist Franck Wolf and James Carter, violinist Costel Nitescu and bassist Gilles Coquard who will invite him on « Reïsa », a disc on which he meets Mino Cinélu and Bireli Lagrène … the list is long and not exhaustive.
An open and curious musician, Marcel likes Django and Viseur, of course, but also Art Van Damme, Piazzolla, Bach, the great American jazzmen with a predilection for Miles Davis, Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea or Joe Zawinul. He also likes music from Central Europe, Africa and French songs; he always takes one on his records (wax doll, sound doll on « Vago », say when will you come back from Barbara, the song of the old lovers of Brel or the Irish ballad immortalized by Bourvil on the following ones).
Marcel is always ready for new musical adventures, as for the Spring straps which gives him carte blanche every year; In 2013, he set up a Quincy Jones big band with Pascal Beck, the trombonist and arranger of Strasbourg, choosing the best French musicians to take back standards and original compositions; if Marcel records regularly (see all his albums in the discography page), he likes to play in public because it is there that he perceives intimately what his music brings or not to others. This does not prevent him from transmitting, since 2016, he teaches Jazz at the conservatory of music in Strasbourg.
Marcel Loeffler, an exceptional stylist. First of all, a clear, airy phrasing that combines light swing, elegance and lyricism, a constant focus on punctuations and contrechnts and a keen sense of improvisation; he can linger around the melody with an unfailing inspiration or punctuate his speech with some virtuoso accelerations never gratuitous; for Marcel has long since passed the stage of virtuosity; what interests him is to play in a thoughtful, more elaborate way, to build something coherent, to play on the nuances, to keep the note; for him, music is above all emotional.

Francis Couvreux

DISCOGRAPHY

ALBUMS

1996

VAGO

Extrait :

1999

NOTE MANOUCHE

Extrait :

2000

SESSIONS

Extrait :

2005

SOURCE MANOUCHE

Extrait :

2007

HOMMAGE

Extrait :

2010

ARROUND GUS

Extrait :

2012

IMAGES

Extrait :

2013

LOEFFLER ET BECK JAZZ BAND

Extrait :

2015

SECRETS

Extrait :

2016

DOMI EMORINE ET MARCEL LOEFFLER

Extrait :

2020

ANTHOLOGIE

BUY
TRAININGS

PROJECTS

Marcel Loeffler occurs in:

Duo

  • Accordion / Guitar (Gypsy Jazz)
  • Accordion / Vocal (French song or jazz)

Trio

  • Accordion / Guitar / Double Bass (Gypsy Jazz)
  • Accordion / Hammond Organ / Drums (Jazz)

Quartet

  • Accordion / Guitar / Violin / Double Bass (Gypsy Jazz)

Rates and information of training on request

CONCERTS IN

VIDEOS

SUBSCRIBE ON 
CALENDAR OF

CONCERTS

  • jeu
    22
    Oct
    2020

    Marcel Loeffler et Céline Mellon

    18hLounge Caffè Strasbourg

    Lounge Caffè
    95 Avenue du Neuhof, 67100 Strasbourg
    La voix de soprano de Céline Méllon et l'accordéon de Marcel traversent l'espace temps , de Maria de Buenos Aires à Dvorak…

  • ven
    27
    Nov
    2020

    ven. 27 novembre Christophe Astolfi Quartet meet Marcel Loeffler JAZZ & BLUES THE MUSIC VILLAGE

    20hThe Music Village Bruxelles

    Tribute to Django Reinhardt and Gus Viseur

    Christophe Astolfi is a key figure in the gypsy guitar. Specialist in swing waltz, he has played with Toots Thielemans, Florin Niculescu, has recorded two albums with Boulou Ferré and is currently collaborating with Christian Escoudé. He recently released an album in tribute to composer Pierre "Baro" Ferret.
    It is with emotion that he comes to the Music Village with the great Marcel Loeffler who is certainly the best gypsy accordionist of the moment worthy successor to Gus Viseur, Tony Murena and Marcel Azzola. The evening will be dedicated to Django and Gus Viseur, both creators of gypsy jazz and swing waltzes from old Paris.

    Christophe Astolfi: guitar solo Marcel Loeffler: accordion Fréderic Guédon: rythm guitar Benjamin Ramos: doublebass

LATEST

NEWS

Marcel Loeffler trio

En concert dimanche 10/02/2019 à la salle André Malraux Geispolsheim, avec Cédric Loeffler guitare, plus contrebasse. Infos pratiques : Espace Malraux Place André Malraux 67118 Geispolsheim Tél. 03 90 29 72 72

lire plus

MASTERCLASS

la poterie de Muttersholtz sera le théâtre d'une MASTERCLASS DE CREATION MUSICALE avec deux improvisateurs de haut vol : Jean-Philippe Rykiel au piano et aux claviers, le maître de la World Music, l'alchimiste pour qui le mélange de musiques de tous les continents...

lire plus

Marcel Loeffler invite Lisa Doby & Nishati Gospel Singers

Printemps des Bretelles 2019 Dimanche 17 mars à 17h L'Illiade - Illkirch-Graffenstaden, France avec Cédric Loeffler (à la guitare) et (Gilles Coquard (à la contrebasse) Après leur rencontre sur le campus d’une université en Caroline du Nord au début des années 90,...

lire plus
message

CONTACT

Contacter Marcel Loeffler

Tél + 33 6 15 15 27 69

Nouveau champ

4 + 15 =

FOLLOW ME :

Marcel Loeffler is playing on : 

Marcel Loeffler – 2018 – CGU

BIOGRAPHIE

JAZZ

Marcel Loeffler

Marcel est né en 1956 à Haguenau au sein de la communauté manouche, dans une famille de musiciens ; Dans l’Est de la France, les Loeffler comme les Reinhardt ou les Schmitt font partie de ces grandes familles qui ont engendré régulièrement des musiciens de grand talent. Les célébrités de la musique manouche sont le plus souvent des guitaristes (Django Reinhardt est celui par qui tout a commencé), assez fréquemment des violonistes mais rarement des accordéonistes. Le père de Marcel, guitariste qui joue dans les bals, sera le catalyseur de sa vocation…

lire la suite
Comme il côtoie beaucoup d’accordéonistes, il a envie de voir son fils en jouer. Bien qu’ayant perdu la vue à l’âge de 5 ans (problème d’ordre génétique), le petit Marcel se retrouve avec un accordéon dans les mains alors qu’il n’a que 6 ans. Quatre ans plus tard il commence à accompagner son père dans les bals de campagne avec l’un de ses frères à la batterie ; Marcel est bien sûr élevé dans l’amour de la musique ; Car si son père aime Django, l’idole de la communauté, il est aussi amateur de jazz américain ; avec lui, Marcel découvre Sinatra, Nat king Cole, Ellington…mais jouer de l’accordéon dans les années 70, époque où l’instrument est relégué dans le registre du commerce, vous classe immédiatement dans la catégorie des ringards, même si vous aimez Art Van Damme, Gus Viseur ou Marcel Azzola, travaillant d’arrache-pied à déchiffrer leurs morceaux.
A la fin de l’adolescence, Marcel délaisse un temps l’accordéon au profit d’une basse électrique. Engagé au sein de l’orchestre de variétés Jacky Coulé, il se produit au casino de Niederbronn ; pendant quatre ans il découvre et apprend en même temps tous les standards du jazz au sein de cet orchestre. Dans les années 80 il s’intéresse  aux synthétiseurs, jouant au sein de divers groupes de rock ou de variétés. Ces quinze ans de baloche furent tout de même une solide école, permettant à Marcel d’être à l’aise dans tous les styles et partout chez lui dans la musique ; sans oublier les réunions et fêtes familiales où la musique est un partage quotidien.

Si Marcel a commencé à composer au milieu des années 80, sans jamais avoir appris la théorie, il faut attendre 1996 pour qu’il enregistre « Vago » son premier disque en leader, sur lequel il signe la plupart des compositions et laisse exploser ses multiples talents. Ayant hérité de son père la faculté de ne pas se contenter de rester dans un seul genre de musique, Marcel annonce ici ce qui sera une constante de sa démarche : sa capacité à proposer des univers musicaux différents tout en gardant une réelle homogénéité. Sideman très recherché, Marcel multiplie rencontres et expériences. L’essentiel pour lui étant de jouer en public, il partagera la scène avec des partenaires qui sont la plupart du temps ses amis : les guitaristes Wawau Adler (participe aux albums « Roots » en 2006 et 2007), Tchavolo, Dorado, Engé et Railo Helmstetter, les accordéonistes Jean-Louis Matinier, Frédéric Schlick (Marcel sera l’un de ses invités sur « Nuances jazz » en 96), René Sopa (qui l’invitera sur « Carinhos tango », disque enregistré en 2008), Raul Barboza (au Cheval blanc de Schiltigheim en 2000), Azzola l’année suivante au même endroit, les saxophoniste Franck Wolf et James Carter, le violoniste Costel Nitescu ou encore le bassiste Gilles Coquard qui l’invitera sur « Reïsa », disque sur lequel il côtoie Mino Cinélu et Bireli Lagrène …la liste est longue et non exhaustive.

Musicien ouvert et curieux, Marcel aime Django et Viseur bien sûr, mais aussi Art Van Damme, Piazzolla, Bach, les grands jazzmen américains avec une prédilection pour Miles Davis, Herbie Hancock, Chick Coréa  ou Joe Zawinul. Il affectionne également les musiques d’Europe centrale, celles d’Afrique ainsi que la chanson française ; il en reprend toujours une sur ses disques (poupée de cire, poupée de son  sur « Vago »,  dis quand reviendras-tu de Barbara, la chanson des vieux amants de Brel ou la ballade irlandaise immortalisée par Bourvil sur les suivants). 

Marcel  est toujours partant pour de nouvelles aventures musicales, comme pour le Printemps des bretelles qui chaque année lui donne carte blanche ; en 2013, il monte un big band à la Quincy Jones avec le tromboniste et arrangeur strasbourgeois Pascal Beck, choisissant les meilleurs musiciens français pour reprendre standards et compos originales ; si Marcel enregistre régulièrement ( voir tous ses albums dans la page discographie), il aime surtout jouer en public car c’est là qu’il perçoit intimement ce que sa musique apporte ou non aux autres. Ce qui ne l’empêche pas de transmettre, depuis 2016, il enseigne le Jazz au conservatoire de musique de Strasbourg.

Marcel Loeffler, un styliste hors paire. Tout d’abord un son, un phrasé aérien et limpide conjuguant swing léger, élégance et lyrisme, un a propos constant dans ses ponctuations et ses contrechants et un sens aigu de l’improvisation ; il peut musarder autour de la mélodie avec une inspiration sans faille ou ponctuer son discours de quelques accélérations virtuoses jamais gratuites ; car Marcel a dépassé depuis longtemps le stade de la virtuosité ; ce qui l’intéresse c’est de jouer de manière réfléchie, plus élaborée, de construire quelque chose de cohérent, jouer sur les nuances, tenir la note ; pour lui la musique est avant tout émotionnelle.

Francis Couvreux

DISCOGRAPHIE

ALBUMS

1996

VAGO

Extrait :

1999

NOTE MANOUCHE

Extrait :

2000

SESSIONS

Extrait :

2005

SOURCE MANOUCHE

Extrait :

2007

HOMMAGE

Extrait :

2010

ARROUND GUS

Extrait :

2012

IMAGES

Extrait :

2013

LOEFFLER ET BECK JAZZ BAND

Extrait :

2015

SECRETS

Extrait :

2016

DOMI EMORINE ET MARCEL LOEFFLER

Extrait :

2020

ANTHOLOGIE

FORMATIONS

PROJETS

Marcel Loeffler se produit en :

Duo

  • Accordéon / Guitare ( Jazz manouche)
  • Accordéon / Chant ( chanson française ou jazz )

Trio

  • Accordéon / Guitare / Contrebasse ( Jazz manouche)
  • Accordéon / Orgue Hammond / Batterie ( Jazz)

Quartet

  • Accordéon / Guitare / Violon / Contrebasse ( Jazz manouche )

Tarifs et renseignements des formations sur demande

CONCERTS EN

VIDÉOS

ABONNEZ-VOUS SUR 
CALENDRIER DES

CONCERTS

  • jeu
    22
    Oct
    2020

    Marcel Loeffler et Céline Mellon

    18hLounge Caffè Strasbourg

    Lounge Caffè
    95 Avenue du Neuhof, 67100 Strasbourg
    La voix de soprano de Céline Méllon et l'accordéon de Marcel traversent l'espace temps , de Maria de Buenos Aires à Dvorak…

  • ven
    27
    Nov
    2020

    ven. 27 novembre Christophe Astolfi Quartet meet Marcel Loeffler JAZZ & BLUES THE MUSIC VILLAGE

    20hThe Music Village Bruxelles

    Tribute to Django Reinhardt and Gus Viseur

    Christophe Astolfi is a key figure in the gypsy guitar. Specialist in swing waltz, he has played with Toots Thielemans, Florin Niculescu, has recorded two albums with Boulou Ferré and is currently collaborating with Christian Escoudé. He recently released an album in tribute to composer Pierre "Baro" Ferret.
    It is with emotion that he comes to the Music Village with the great Marcel Loeffler who is certainly the best gypsy accordionist of the moment worthy successor to Gus Viseur, Tony Murena and Marcel Azzola. The evening will be dedicated to Django and Gus Viseur, both creators of gypsy jazz and swing waltzes from old Paris.

    Christophe Astolfi: guitar solo Marcel Loeffler: accordion Fréderic Guédon: rythm guitar Benjamin Ramos: doublebass

Dernières

ACTUS

Marcel Loeffler trio

En concert dimanche 10/02/2019 à la salle André Malraux Geispolsheim, avec Cédric Loeffler guitare, plus contrebasse. Infos pratiques : Espace Malraux Place André Malraux 67118 Geispolsheim Tél. 03 90 29 72 72

lire plus

MASTERCLASS

la poterie de Muttersholtz sera le théâtre d'une MASTERCLASS DE CREATION MUSICALE avec deux improvisateurs de haut vol : Jean-Philippe Rykiel au piano et aux claviers, le maître de la World Music, l'alchimiste pour qui le mélange de musiques de tous les continents...

lire plus

Marcel Loeffler invite Lisa Doby & Nishati Gospel Singers

Printemps des Bretelles 2019 Dimanche 17 mars à 17h L'Illiade - Illkirch-Graffenstaden, France avec Cédric Loeffler (à la guitare) et (Gilles Coquard (à la contrebasse) Après leur rencontre sur le campus d’une université en Caroline du Nord au début des années 90,...

lire plus
message

CONTACT

Contacter Marcel Loeffler

Tél + 33 6 15 15 27 69

RGPD

9 + 13 =

ME suivRE :

Marcel Loeffler joue sur : 

Marcel Loeffler – 2018 – CGU